welcome to experimentcity!

experimentcity was initiated in 2003 by id22: Institute for Creative Sustainability, emphasizing the development of a great diversity of cooperative, accessible, affordable and self-organized housing forms as an essential contribution to a culture of sustainable urban development.

experimentcity, through a networking of experts and activists, artists and creatives as well as researchers, administrators and business people – supports innovative urban and community development strategies – transforming rigid top-down approaches into direct democratic and participatory processes.

With project markets (EXPERIMENTDAYS), internet platforms (CoHousing Berlin), publications (CoHousing Cultures + CoHousing Inclusive) and events including workshops, project visits (Creative Sustainability Tours) and exhibitions, experimentcity communicates the potential of a culture of creative and participatory, sustainable urban development.

experimentcity europe has networked CoHousing activists and experts at the European level supporting the exchange and transfer of locally-based experiences and knowledge.

experimentcity SUPPORTS collaborative housing forms and diversity in urban neighborhoods as well as participative and sustainable (re)uses of vacant buildings and land. This offers urban pioneers and innovative housing and cultural projects a platform to publicize their ideas.

experimentcity DEMONSTRATES that creative and integrated uses of otherwise idle space with ecological, cultural and cooperative initiatives increases urban quality of life.

experimentcity CREATES public interest, mobilizes available resources in the civil society regionally and internationally and works with government, media and the business community in taking steps toward sustainable development.

experimentcity INITIATES an exchange of experiences, networking and cooperation and is a Model Project for the implementation of the Local Agenda 21, designed to communicate with people where they are: in a diversity of languages and spaces, locally and internationally.

id22: Institute for Creative Sustainability

id22: a multidisciplinary, non-profit organization based in the urban lab we know as Berlin. A focus is on the theory and practice of creative sustainability, emphasizing self-organization and local urban initiatives. The Institute coordinates educational services, networking events and publications exploring CoHousing and related projects like CoWorking and community gardening in the context of a post-growth, democratic urban development. We have an international orientation and are happy to work with people with and without refugee experience!

willkommen bei experimentcity!

experimentcity wurde 2003 von id22: Institut für kreative Nachhaltigkeit initiiert. Der Schwerpunkt der Initiative ist die Weiterentwicklung einer großen Vielfalt an kooperativen, zugänglichen, bezahlbaren und selbstorganisierten Wohnformen als wesentlichen Beitrag zur Kultur einer nachhaltigen Stadtentwicklung.

Zudem ist es unser Ziel, durch die Bündelung von Experten und Aktivisten, Künstlern und Kreativen sowie Akteuren aus Forschung, Verwaltung und lokaler Wirtschaft die Erarbeitung gemeinsamer Strategien zum Umgang mit urbanen Problematiken von einem starren „top-down“ Handeln in einen direkt-demokratischen und partizipativen Prozess zu verwandeln.

Mit Projektbörsen (EXPERIMENTDAYS), Internet-Plattformen (CoHousing Berlin), Veröffentlichungen (CoHousing Cultures + CoHousing Inclusive) und diversen Veranstaltungsformaten wie Workshops und Exkursionen (Creative Sustainability Tours), oder Ausstellungen, kommuniziert experimentcity die Potenziale der Kultur einer kreativen und partizipativen, nachhaltigen Stadtentwicklung.
experimentcity europe vernetzt CoHousing-Akteure und -experten auf europäischer Ebene und unterstützt den Austausch lokalspezifischen wie übertragbaren Erfahrungswissens.

experimentcity FÖRDERT gemeinschaftliche Wohnformen und Vielfalt im urbanen Raum sowie die partizipative und nachhaltige Nutzung von Brachflächen und Bauleerständen. Es bietet innovativen Wohn- und Kulturprojekten eine Plattform für Austausch und Präsentation in der Öffentlichkeit.

experimentcity ZEIGT, dass kreative und integrierte Nutzungen von Flächen und Räumen mit ökologischen, gemeinschaftlichen und kulturellen Ansätzen eine Stadt lebenswerter und attraktiver machen.

experimentcity WECKT öffentliches Interesse, mobilisiert vorhandene Ressourcen in der Zivilgesellschaft regional wie international und aktiviert Politik, Wirtschaft und Medien für zukunftsfähige Entwicklungsansätze.

experimentcity INITIIERT Erfahrungsaustausch, Vernetzung und Kooperation. Als Leitprojekt im Sinne der Lokalen Agenda 21 kommuniziert experimentcity mit einer urbanen Öffentlichkeit in vielfältigen Sprachen und Räumen, lokal und international und versucht, den Blick auf den Möglichkeitsraum Stadt zu öffnen und ein verantwortungsvolles Miteinander zu ermöglichen.

id22: Institut für kreative Nachhaltigkeit

id22: eine multidisziplinäre, gemeinnützige Organisation, heimisch in dem urbanen Lab Berlin. Ein Schwerpunkt liegt in der Theorie und Praxis der kreativen Nachhaltigkeit, insbesondere auf Selbtsorganisation und lokalen, städtischen Initiativen. Das Institut bietet Bildungsangebote, organisiert Netzwerkveranstaltungen und veröffentlicht Publikationen, welche das Thema CoHousing im Zusammenhang mit der Postwachstumsgesellschaft und demokratischer Stadtentwicklung behandeln. Wir haben eine internationale Orientierung und arbeiten gerne mit Menschen mit und ohne Fluchterfahrung!